Exploring Forgotten Connecticut

Shadow Wolf and Lynx wander about Connecticut…

Stylized ‘Declaration of Independence’ reprint.

Posted by Michael on February 3, 2007

A reader named Brad contacted me a few days ago via email. He attached  the photo shown here, asking if I knew anything about it. After some research, I couldn’t come up with any concrete answers. There is no print or publish date other than ‘July 4th, 1776’, which is just a reference to when the Declaration of Independence was supposed to have been signed. “Published by Colonial Press, New York and London”, is printed at the bottom. The words ‘Colonial Press’ cause most search engines to spit out thousands of useless entries.

My best guess, and I am no expert in such things, is this is a souvenir document/poster from our country’s centennial (1876) or sesquicentennial (1926). It is more likely from the period of 1876 as it has many of the same artistic styles of documents I have seen from the same time frame. In any case it looks fairly old.

Again, I am no expert, I am just an amatuer giving his opinion with absolutely no facts to back it up.

What Brad and I are hoping, is that by posting this photo (click on the photo for a larger 816 x 1024 sized version, or email me at ctexplorers@gmail.com for a 1935 x 2427 sized version) someone with more knowledge will come forward.

If you have any information about this document, please contact me at ctexplorers@gmail.com. I will pass it along to Brad and post your info here along with a credit to you. Thanks!

Lynx

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , , , ,

This photo is used by permission by it’s owner, and he holds all rights to it.

One Response to “Stylized ‘Declaration of Independence’ reprint.”

  1. sidoti said

    Hello. I came across your current website the employment of bing. This is a extremely well published report. I’ll ensure that you bookmark it are available to read further of one’s helpful information. Thanks for the article. I’m going to surely return.

Leave a Reply

 
